Miscarriages

I don’t have children and I’ve never been pregnant. I’m the oldest cousin on both sides of my family, so I’ve been around lots of babies, but the youngest is 8. The kids of my friends are all toddlers or older. I never knew them pregnant.  I read a lot of Mom Blogs (why? who knows). I’ve read lots about pregnancy and miscarriages. The heartache they can bring. But my point is that I’ve never known someone going through it. Or heard of anyone in “real life” going through it.

Until this week. A coworker of mine had a miscarriage (8 or 9 weeks along). It’s heartbreaking, even if we don’t always get along. I feel so bad for her, for her two boys at home, for her husband, for her dreams of having a little girl. I don’t know what to say to her, except that I’m sorry and to let me know if I can do anything.

For those of who you have gone through this, what do I say? What do I do? How can I be a support for her?

Leave a Reply

