My Second Thanksgiving

This year, I’m spending Thanksgiving with the Engineer and not our families. We also did this after having dated only a year because he was on duty in another state. This year, we’re looking for a break from the upcoming holiday events and a little time for ourselves. Instead of making a pie or two, I am responsible for making everything. Well, all except the biscuits, but that’s only because I don’t have the touch for Southern biscuits yet. That’s one of those things that I’m just hoping will happen one of these days. Does anyone have any ideas for that?

My plan is to work up a day by day to do list so that things come together Thursday. Here’s what I have in mind:

Sunday – make meatballs to freeze (not Thanksgiving, but necessary)
Monday – Make chocolate pie & freeze
Tuesday – Make pumpkin pie & freeze
Wednesday – (NO WORK!!!) Go to farmer’s market, make cornbread for dressing, put turkey in crockpot
Thursday morning – cook rice, prepare macaroni and cheese
Thursday afternoon – beans, corn, gravy

I’m more nervous this year, even though we’ll have no guests. I suppose it’s because if I mess up… we’ll be going to McDonald’s.

Leave a Reply

