Parents Dating

Let me preface this by saying that my parents divorced when I was 9; I haven’t lived at home since I was 16, except for summers; I’m an adult for Pete’s sake.

My mom got remarried about 10 years ago. At first there were some issues in getting along (understandably, in my opinion – it’s hard for a 15 year old to adjust to a new parent in the home). We all get along great now…

My dad has recently started dating again. A few years ago he had a… friend, shall we say? But a few weeks ago, he brought a woman for me to meet. Y’all, it was crazy. Missing teeth, chain smoker, tattoos all over her chest, married 5 times. I just about fainted. But, whatever cranks your tractor, right? Then she broke up with him and moved to the beach to be with her grandson. Then she decided she missed Dad and wanted to come back. She moved in with my aunt. Then she broke up with him again.

Christmas with my dad’s family is tomorrow. You won’t believe what he just called and told me… She’s going to be there! Thankfully, I keep a good many “just in case” gifts – just for this occasion. So, I guess that’s not what’s bothering me.

I love my dad. I want him to be happy. But, I think he can do better. I think he can be happier. Is it awful that I’m wary of this girl? Perhaps I’m judging her too much, but I don’t want him in a relationship with a woman who can’t make up her mind about whether or not she likes him. Frustrating! I know it’s not really my business, but it’s hard to stay out of it…

Leave a Reply

