The Economy Hits Home

This week, I had a real reminder of the state of our economy. We got an email last week that we were going to have to take 5 furloughs next year. Then, a few days later, we got another one that said one furlough this year and our school would be losing two positions: one classified (aide) and one certified (teacher). No one knows which teacher it will be, but we’re promised to know by the end of the month.

Every day, every thing wrong I’ve done has floated through my mind. It’s tough because I know, better than anyone, that I’m not perfect. I worry, because since I’m not married, I don’t have the backup should I lose my job. Not that that’s always an option anyway, but… I’d be up a creek without an income and an apartment lease and NO other jobs in this town. People tell me, “Oh, you’re fine.” and “It won’t be you.” But my thought is this:

It has to be SOMEONE.

And, in a school of 20 classroom teachers, the chances aren’t great.

Realistically, I know that I’ll be okay no matter how this turns out. And, I know that worrying isn’t going to help my chances. All I can do is my best.

And perform like there’s no tomorrow when the State Department comes to visit in a week.

So, I ask you: Have any of you been in this position? How did you make it through without too much worrying?

Leave a Reply

