Revisiting my Goals

Earlier this year, I posted that my word for the year was going to be peace. I want to find peace with where I am in life and enjoy it while I am here.

Today, I’m having a hard time.

My friends in town are all with their families (because, heaven-forbid, I am friends with another singleton). B is out taking a fun class (not work-related) offered by his local community college. I want to be there, taking this class with him. I want to spend my evenings cooking for him and arguing over what to watch on TV. I want to be going on adventures and taking evening classes in things we love.

Instead, I am in this small town, suffocating from the loneliness. I know I should go out and meet people my age, people in my season of life. But, I can’t seem to do it. I joined an exercise group, but was largely ignored by the previously-formed clique. I go to the library frequently, but there aren’t any activities for 20-somethings. I work out at the gym in my apartments, but I’m always solo. I took a quilting class. Can you believe I was the youngest there? Dumb move. I go to all of the apartment-hosted parties, but none of the ladies my age go. Most recently, I’ve moved to a larger church in the hopes of meeting people, but so far, no luck. I’m looking forward to joining some groups, which I think will help.

So, I’m here in my apartment, watching Oscar recaps, reading books, and spring cleaning. I need to find peace with this season of life and relish in the quiet and peacefulness. I know that in a matter of years, I’ll dream of this time and appreciate it for what it is.

In the meantime, how do you find peace in your season of life? How do you keep from always looking to the future?

Leave a Reply

