My Black Thumb

I have a bonafide black thumb. Plants die when I look at them. I never know if I’m watering too much or not enough. Or how much is enough. I have no problem with this, but it makes it hard to explain to people why every plant they give me dies.

So, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and grow some veggies from seeds this year. I already know I started wrong – I just threw the seeds into the pots on my back porch, covered them with a little fresh potting soil and watered the heck out of them.

A week later?
Large Plants Growing
Can you believe it?!? Those itty bitty green things are actually plants growing! I may or may not have showed these photos around as if they were children.
Plants Growing 1
I couldn’t tell you what they are since I didn’t mark a single one. Hey, you live and learn, right? I still have copies of the seed packets, so I figure I can just Google the plant names and match it up to the pictures.
Plants growing 2
Frankly, I know I have approached this all wrong, but I couldn’t be more thrilled with the results. I can’t wait to see what my “harvest” will be!
Strawberry Basket
And, just for further proof of my black-but-turning-green thumb, here’s a strawberry plant given to me by my dad. I even picked two bright red strawberries!
Strawberries

Who knew gardening was this much fun?

One thought on “My Black Thumb

  1. I don’t have a green thumb either! You have somewhat inspired me though! I say somewhat because I want to get one of those topsy turvy planters for strawberries. Maybe I will go get one soon. :)

Leave a Reply

