Movie Review: Sex and the City 2

Thanks to a radio contest, I was able to go to the Sex and the City 2 premiere in Charlotte last night. Er, this morning. It started at 12:01 to a packed house of two theaters. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, as I’ve never been to a midnight showing of a movie, much less one with this much anticipation.

I’ll warn you by saying that I’ve never seen the tv show. Or the first movie. I’m not sure why I didn’t bother to watch one or the other before I went, but I’m honestly glad that I didn’t. I knew the basic premise: four women in New York City. Carrie Bradshaw is the main character of the four and something about her choosing between Mr Big and Aiden. I knew she married Big in the last movie based on the previews. In all honesty, that’s all I went in knowing.

This movie did an amazing job of filling me in on the details without doing an obvious review segment. I now understand many of the intricacies of the characters and some of their past history.

But, girl, did this movie make me laugh. Out loud, many times. The clothes, as I learned to expect, were fabulous. The characters were hysterical and realistic. And, oh my gosh, the one liners from this movie. “Lawrence of my labia.” (sorry Mom!)

There were also some amazing lessons in the movie. I honestly expected SATC2 to be superficial and based only on clothes and sex. Well, yes, it was about clothes and sex, but the complexities surprised me.

Needless to say, the first season of Sex and the City is on my Netflix queue already. I’m desperately wanting to watch through the seasons, then the first and second movie again. I’m sure I’ll understand so much more about what happened in this movie.

As a side note, I think I’m getting too old for these late night escapades. The movie started at 12 and ended around 2:45. After driving home (35 minutes) and winding down, I got less than 2 hours of sleep last night before I had to get back up and go teach watch movies this morning. I am slap wore out!

Have you seen SATC2? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Sex and the City 2

  1. THis movie wasn’t nearly as good as the show is! For die hard Sex and the City fans it was pretty bad… You have to watch the show..it’s hilarious. The first movie was much better too!

    We wrote a review on our blog too if you want to read it!

Leave a Reply

