Change is in the air

It’s official, boys and girl. I’m now a fourth grade teacher. After three years of third grade, budget cuts have caused me to move up to fourth. I’m not going to pretend that I’m glad about this move or that I’m looking forward to it, but I’ll be honest and direct all of that towards my great dislike of change.

I tend to get comfortable in a routine, whether it is my reality show addiction or Pizza Fridays. I really felt like I was getting in the hang of things at school, and was very disappointed to hear about the move.

But, in the spirit of finding peace with things I cannot change, here is a list of things I’m looking forward to this year:

  • Playing nice with a teacher I’ve had trouble with in the past
  • Teaching my same wonderful students as last year (yay for looping)
  • Learning more about US History (since I have to teach it and all!)
  • Starting over
  • Finding a new grade that may suit me better than I ever thought 3rd could

So, moral to the story: I hate change, but I can learn to love the changes.

Leave a Reply

