Friday Firsts

This week, I got to try a variety of new things, which I have found to change my perception of life in general. See below:

Coloring my hair – Except for that blonde stint freshman year of college, I’ve never purposefully (and with great debate) dyed my hair. It had become sort of a game at work to find gray hairs in my head, so something needed to be done. I said something to one of my kids about going gray (probably, “You kids are turning my hair gray”) and heard back, “I know! There’s one in your bangs.” Appointment was made shortly thereafter. I went to a semi-reputable salon – basically, the only white person salon in this town – to my normal girl and had her do it. Afterthoughts: I love it. I hope that the darker hue makes me look a bit older, and maybe it does since I didn’t get carded for my wine at the grocery store. This is both good and bad.

Going to the pool by myself – I know this is so NOT a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but I realized that I can’t hold off on the fun things until I can get someone to go with me. So, I went alone. And I tanned (bad for me, I know) and floated and read my book to my heart’s content. When I was ready to go? I left. I didn’t have to wait on anyone to get ready or not be ready. Afterthoughts: I’m going again tomorrow.

Getting microdermabrasion – This I won during teacher appreciation week, so thankfully did not have to pay for it. Oh my wow. My face feels so smooth, like it did when I was 14. I want to keep touching it, but then it’ll be greasy like it was when I was 15. Alas, it is lovely. Afterthoughts: If I made more money, I’d be there all the time. All. The. Time.

    I might have mentioned this once or twice, but I’m a lover of routines and hater of change. I tend to get in a rut schedule and stick with it until I can’t anymore. But, this week has opened my eyes – even if just a little – to trying new things and getting out of my comfort zone. After all, I got some wonderful new experiences that I wouldn’t have had otherwise.

    What have you done that was out of your comfort zone?

    Leave a Reply

    