The Written Word

102_0795

I spent a good part of today cleaning out the work/school things I brought home over the summer in an effort to get rid of as much as possible. My apartment isn’t very large and I don’t have the extra space for the boxes and chairs that I typically have to keep at home over the summer. So, long story short, I was consolidating some boxes in my closet to make room and ran across all of my old diaries.

Finding these old journals issued a time warp into my typically mundane afternoon. Next thing I know, hours have passed by and nothing has been accomplished, physically.

But, it was absolutely fascinating to read about what happened in high school and college through my younger eyes. I look back on certain events (Rush, for example) with more of an adult or skewed-over-time perspective and it was so refreshing to be reminded of who I was and how I saw the world. To be reminded of a time when my greatest worry was if so-and-so would go to Formal with me or what dress to wear to Pref Night.

What kills me is that all journaling ceased around January of 2003. At that time, I had a fairly new boyfriend, was in the madness of sorority life, and enjoying my freshman year of college – so I’m not at all surprised that I didn’t make the time to write anymore. But, my adult self mourns the loss of those years in a written form. As there’s no point in wishing what can’t be changed, I’m choosing to modify the future instead. I must keep writing about my days and my wishes and dreams, even if it is online. Because, one day when I’m 80, I’ll appreciate it.

One thought on “The Written Word

Leave a Reply

