Tennessee and Kentucky Trip, Part 5

Our last stop of the Tennessee/Kentucky trip was the Woodford Reserve Distillery. (Are you noticing a pattern? If food and alcohol are involved, we’re there!) Woodford is a small batch distillery that doesn’t stop production for the summer, so we actually got to see each step of the process, something I really appreciate after the last tour.

Woodford Reserve 1

Can I first just drool over the reception house? I tried to take tons of photos to model my future home after. If I had the money to fly our families out there, I’d very happily have them host my wedding reception. Granted, that would require getting engaged, but that’s another story. :)

Woodford Reserve 2

The bourbon at Woodford had a very different taste than the last one we tried, although I’m not sure I can pinpoint how. I know that it is cooked very differently (cedar vats, triple distilled) and you could just tell in the way it tasted.

Woodford Reserve 3

Our tour guide said it would “bite you” and I saw that more with this one than the others. It very distinctly bit the inside of my mouth, whereas others just burned. Naturally, B had to finish my half shot for me. Still not a bourbon fan, but I wish we had thought to bring some home for B. We honestly didn’t even think about it while we were there, although we did get bourbon vanilla (yum!) and bourbon caramels (double yum!)

Woodford Reserve 4

Obviously, they let us take photos inside here, which was nice. Their biggest rule was that you can’t use flash inside so that there’s not an accidental spark that will set us all ablaze. See all those barrels? Full of bourbon? Flammable bourbon? One lady on the tour kept using her flash and I was very aggravated with the tour guide for not telling her to stop because I’m not ready to die!

Woodford Reserve 5

So, my overall impression of  Woodford: By far, our favorite distillery tour, and if you’re ever in the area, you really should go, bourbon fan or not. I loved the house and the history in the tour. The small facts were mind boggling, and something we didn’t get anywhere else (see the black on the buildings? That’s a fungus that grows on the bourbon that has seeped through the rock).

And, that’s about where our tour of Tennessee and Kentucky ends. I left out a few parts (touring UK campus, Shaker village) because they really weren’t all that fascinating. Thanks for putting up with my food-related nostalgia. All will be back to normal next week!

Leave a Reply

