Healthy Eating, Part 2

A few weeks ago, I vowed to start eating healthy and more naturally. It’s been an adventure and things are still far from perfect, but it’s a start. I typically stick to a routine with my meals, so I have just modified my choices to more organic ones. The struggle has been finding a way to incorporate vegetables into my diet that aren’t corn, green beans, or lima beans (not really veggies at all). Here’s a breakdown of the changes I’ve made.

For breakfasts, I’ve just switched to Trader Joe’s organic yogurt and granola. Same food but yummier and cheaper (believe it or not). I also have been recently cutting up a banana and mixing it in. Why didn’t I think of that sooner??

Lunch hasn’t been as easy since I quit my daily SmartOnes. I’m trying to find something less processed, but it has to be premade and easily/quickly cooked in the microwave. I got a few TJ’s pizzas and zitis, but the sodium count was surprisingly high. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about that, but here’s hoping inspiration strikes. As a side note, I don’t eat sandwiches, so that’s not an option.

Supper’s been pretty easy also, thanks to TJ’s. I’ve been able to get some type of meat or fish and eat off that for the week with various side dishes. Last week, I had crab cakes and just switched up the sides. This week it’s been grilled chicken. If I keep the sides at some variation of faux-veggies, Annie’s mac and cheese, brown rice, or sweet potatoes, then I know I’m good. Well, sort of good, until I convince myself that bell peppers and asparagus aren’t the devils food.

So, long story short: I need your help. What healthy foods do you all eat for lunch? I need some ideas!!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Eating, Part 2

  1. WOW tough choices for lunch if you don’t like sandwiches. How about hummus and veggies? Or leftovers from dinner? I’m huge on leftovers. You could also do a salad – which is a pretty easy suggestion. I also love making something like a crustless quiche or spinach lasagna that I can freeze and have anytime like a “quick meal” that I don’t have something prepped.

Leave a Reply

