Choosing Humility

I believe that being humble is a choice. It’s one that we all make every day, in every conversation, in every encounter. I believe that this choice defines who we are and who our friends are. I believe that choosing to NOT be humble has widespread repercussions that are rarely every good.

I know that when you consistently tout your accomplishments but never admit to your failures, people will begin to resent you and your conversations.

I believe that there are no perfect humans on this planet, and we should not therefore advertise ourselves as such. I think that the key to successful relationships is admitting defeat, admitting that something did not quite work as you intended. This is what allows us to connect to one another, to make those connections that are vital to who we are as humans. Who can truly and honestly relate to someone who is always perfect, always right?

Perhaps it is me. Maybe I’m the one who has trouble understanding The Perfect Ones. But, I just can’t relate to them. I can’t, in all honesty, have a good, wholesome – meaningful – conversation with someone who doesn’t have even an ounce of humility. I need to know that when I fail, as I will often do, that I am not alone.

I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.  ~Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

