January’s Goal: Declutter & Donate

I’ve thought for a long time about what my first monthly goal should be. I want it to be meaningful, but not just for me. I want to do something that matters to other people, that will provide them with something they want or need. And, gosh darn it, I want to clean out my closet. So, there you have my very first monthly goal: declutter and donate.

My goal this month is to donate at least 31 items from around my house to a local charity that will help people in need. I’m not sure where it will go yet, although my first inclination is to send it off to Goodwill or Habitat for Humanity. I’ll have to do more research by the end of the month, but I know that these things do not need to end up in the landfill.

So, why 31 items? That’s a minimum of 1 item a day. That’s pulling a shirt out of my closet in the morning that I don’t wear anymore. That’s tossing in a book that I won’t ever read again. That’s donating my extra set of measure cups. That should be easy, right?

31 items is my goal. My secret wish is to donate much more than that (40? 50? 60??), but I’ll be happy with 31. I’m kicking things off with an old desk chair that doesn’t get much use. One thing down; 30 more to go.

What is your goal for January? Be sure to grab the 12 Months 12 Goals button!

One thought on “January’s Goal: Declutter & Donate

  1. NICE! I’m more of a Spring and Fall clean up kinda gal. Every time the seasons change, I go through all of our closets and pull things out that we barely wore and donate them. Then pack up the rest and pull out things for the upcoming season.

Leave a Reply

