Teacher Treat Box

While perusing Pinterest the other day, I came across this little beauty:

 

Once I clicked through to the original webpage, I realized…this looks easy. I am, by no stretch of the imagination, a crafty person. I wish I could create all of gorgeous DIY items on Pinterest these days, but there’s no hope for me, I’m afraid. I’ve got a good teaching friend who is getting married next month and has a birthday this week. An idea was sparked, albeit with a hint of trepidation. Thankfully, this ended up being stupid easy. Here’s my finished piece and how I went about it.

  1. I traced the top of the box onto white paper, which I then used to cut out the same shape on three pieces of scrapbook paper. I intended to put the polka dot paper in the middle, with paisley on the bottom. Unfortunately, I severely miscut the paisley paper, which I’m still not sure how that happened since I was tracing it.
  2. I filled the box up with as many purple things as I could find that were small enough. There are erasers, staples, paper clips, binder clips, jolly ranchers, Dove chocolate, magnets, and push pins. I’m most excited about the staples…Who knew they sold colored staples??
  3. I finally wrapped it all up with a basic bow. I opted not to do the ribbon underneath the paper, as they did in the original post because I was afraid it would get in the way. In the bow are a few things I picked up that did not fit in the box (highlighter, white-out tape, and flags, all in purple of course).
I loved this project for a couple of reasons. It gave me a chance to give a friend something with her new last name. It’s useful. This is such a personalized gift. I was able to decide what went inside based on her likes and personality. I may have to find an excuse to make another one of these for someone else!
3 thoughts on “Teacher Treat Box

Leave a Reply

