Hilton Head Island

We’ve spent the past week on Hilton Head Island with my family, a necessary break from all that’s been going on here. It was nice to just get away from the normal everyday life worries and focus on relationships and having fun. I could write a week’s worth of posts about everything we did down there, but I’ll refrain. If you want more detailed information or recommendations, feel free to e-mail me and I’ll answer any questions you have.

We spent about 2 1/2 hours (4.5 miles) walking through a portion of the Pinckney Island Nature Preserve. We saw tons of animals and enjoyed the scenery immensely. I’d suggest visiting at high tide and touring on bikes, but doing it our way was fine as well.

We spent some time at Coligny Plaza, but I didn’t love it at all. It was a little too touristy and kitchy for me, so I enjoyed Harbour Town so much more. The shops were a bit nicer even though they were also catering to the tourists. Nearby, Salty Dog is an institution – one that can’t be missed if you’re in the area. I’d go for the shrimp and grits, personally.

Speaking of food, we stopped at One Hot Mama’s for supper one night, home of Orchid from Food Network Star. The food was phenomenal; everyone at our table was happy with their order. This is my plate of rib tips and smoked chicken, but I’d also suggest the rack of ribs and the Big Daddy. The best part was seeing Orchid walking around talking to the guests. She’s definitely very down to earth and happy. Wish she had won!

Other places of note: Of course no trip to Hilton Head is complete without some time at the beach. I have no daytime pictures of it, oddly enough, but HHI has the best beach around. We also really enjoyed eating at Pino Gelato (try the Tiramisu) and drinking at Wine Times 4. Pino Gelato was a random find, but one of the best gelato places I’ve been to. I read about Wine Times 4 on another blog, and dragged my family along to try it. The concept is great (you choose your wine by the glass size and use a card to keep track of your balance), and I loved trying all kinds of different wines.

So, there’s the short version of our trip to Hilton Head. Have you ever been to HHI? Do you have any recommendations for the next time we’re there?

Leave a Reply

